Health Clinics

Leave a comment

October 9, 2012 by Zee

Workers leaving Pennsylvania shipyards, Beaumont, Texas (LOC)If you have had the unfortunate experience of being uninsured or underinsured you may have spent time in a health center or clinic.

If you haven’t gone to a clinic for a ‘well-visit’ or check up, don’t worry you’re not alone.

No one really goes for routine healthcare, or I can’t surmise so by my own visits.
Everyone waits in a communal CDC cesspool with t.v.s too far, too low and too insignificant to counteract the cacophony of sniffles, sneezes, coughs and cell phone fodder about rashes, and antibiotics.
Swine flu information
If your appointment is at 10 you better be there when the line starts forming at 7 or 7:30 because the doors open at 8. And you better have your drama hat on because they only take the the 10 or 20 most dire cases.

‘Is my eye infection more or less compelling than this old lady’s hypertension acting up?…Hmmm, she could die at home alone if untreated, but I might end up blind!’ Let’s add a groan of uncomfort to seal the deal. (True story, it worked!!!! but I ended up with a mental health appointment slip as well).

Receptionist DeskNo one inside a health clinic is moving at the speed of life. Everything is torturously slow getting in one line to wait for another. If receptionists had hedgefund bets on how long each patient waits, they’d be so rich they’d quit.
Getting back into the examining room and have my vitals taken, buys me some more time to sit awkwardly in a tissue gown on a parchment paper covered lab table.
Colorado Petition Drop to Rep. Perlmutter 2
Then a doctor comes in and asks me all the same questions the nurse just recorded.
Don’t let me have a question about something other than my infected eye, (what if I have herpes in my eye and i wonder if its in my vagina as well?*) I have to come back on another day for another fun field trip to the clinic!

I can get a pamplet from the lady behind the plateglass window about more permanent health care coverage, however, on my way out.

I can read it while I wait another hour for my penicilin prescription to be processed at the pharmacy 15 feet away.

Right now my best strategy is ‘don’t get sick’,IMGP5414 but for those of you other ‘personally irresponsible American victims’ ; there has to be a better way!

*I don’t really have herpes, but its a legitimate hypothetical question!

How do YOU feel about it?

Stuff we Said Before

Pick your Progress

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Bloggers

